Navigating to Net-Zero Carbon, and a Secure, Equitable Transportation Future


Pacific Grove, California

Conference Description

The 19th biennial conference will address the challenges of climate change in the context of environmental and mobility justice, how they influence transportation investments and choices, and the policies for accomplishing these changes in a sustainable manner. We are at a pivotal point, with new technologies and business models sweeping through transportation, and major governmental investments being considered. The focus of this conference is on national policy, but with links to international and state/local policymaking. Key topics include energy (electrification, hydrogen, and biofuels); new mobility and transit; freight; and cities (as it relates to national policy toward land use, climate, and social justice).



Preliminary Schedule

JULY 11, 2023


10:00am – 3:00pm

Electric Vehicle Center Deep Dive Meeting (Invitation Only)

U.S.-China ZEV Policy-Hydrogen FCEV Workshop (Invitation Only)

11:00am – 3:00pm

3 Revolutions Deep Dive Meeting (Invitation Only)

2:00pm – 5:00pm

STEPS+ ZEV Trucks Deep Dive Meeting (Invitation Only)

3:00pm – 4:30pm

International Efforts - Supply Chain Meeting (Invitation Only)

3:00pm – 6:00pm


4:30pm – 6:00pm

Welcome Reception sponsored by Alliance for Automotive Innovation

6:00pm – 10:00pm

BBQ Dinner & Bonfire

JULY 12, 2023


7:00am – 9:00am


9:00am – 10:30am

Session 1: Welcome & Introductions

10:30am – 11:00am


11:00am – 12:00pm

Session 2: California, US, EU, and Chinese Leadership

12:00pm – 1:30pm


1:45pm – 3:15pm

Session 3: Accelerating "Secure" Energy and Battery Investments

3:15pm – 3:50pm


4:00pm – 5:45pm

Session 4: Car and Truck Policy

6:00pm – 7:00pm


7:05pm – 7:15pm

Buses Depart to Monterey Bay Aquarium

7:30pm – 10:30pm

Monterey Bay Aquarium sponsored by Mercedes-Benz

JULY 13, 2023


7:00am – 9:00am


9:00am – 10:15am

Session 5: Beyond Cars Expanding Mobility for All

10:15am – 10:45am


10:45am – 12:00pm

Session 6: Low-Carbon Fuels for Planes, Ships, and Legacy Vehicles

12:00pm – 2:00pm


2:00pm – 4:00pm

Session 7: Vehicle Charging and Hydrogen – Focusing on Trucks

4:00pm – 4:30pm


4:30pm – 6:00pm

Closing Panel

6:00pm – 10:00pm BBQ Dinner and Bonfire


Confirmed Speakers

  • Rakesh Aneja, Head of eMobility, Daimler Trucks North America
  • Hassan Babiker, Head of Global Strategic Transport Analysis Team, Aramco
  • Michael Berube, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Sustainable Transportation, Department of Energy
  • Megan W. Blum, Director, Office of Environmental Programs, Federal Transit Administration
  • Aimee Boulanger, Executive Director, Initiative for Responsible Mining Assurance
  • Katie Ellet, President, Hydrogen Energy and Mobility, NAM at Air Liquide
  • Steve Henderson, Associate Director, Vehicle Regulatory Strategy & Planning, Ford Motor Company
  • Gloria Huerta, CEO, Miocar
  • Alissa Kendall, Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering, UC Davis
  • Jennifer Krill, Executive Director, Earthworks
  • Janice Lin, Founder and President, Green Hydrogen Coalition
  • Prof. Ouyang Minggao, Tsingua University
  • Patty Monahan, Commissioner, California Energy Commission
  • ​​​​​​Darwin Moosavi, Deputy Secretary for Environmental Policy & Housing Coordination, California State Transportation Agency
  • Colin Murphy, Deputy Director, Policy Institute for Energy, Environment, and the Economy, UC Davis
  • Rachel Nealer, Deputy Director for Joint Office of Energy and Transportation
  • Alejandra Nunez, Deputy Assistant Administrator for Mobile Sources, Office of Air and Radiation, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
  • Margo Oge, Former Director, US EPA Office of Transportation and Air Quality
  • Román Partida-López, Transportation Equity Legal Counsel at The Greenlining Institute
  • Carla Peterman, Executive Vice President, Corporate Affairs and Chief Sustainability Officer, PG&E
  • Brandon Pollak, Executive Director, Washington Mobility Innovation District
  • Liane Randolph, Chair, California Air Resources Board
  • Paul Rosa, SVP Procurement & Fleet Planning, Penske Truck Leasing
  • Nancy Ryan, Partner, eMobility Advisors
  • Rajinder Sahota, Deputy Executive Officer, California Air Resources Board
  • Sunita Satyapal, Director, Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technologies Office, DOE
  • Thiemo Schalk, BMW GROUP Representative // Government & External Affairs
  • Karl Simon, Director, Transportation and Climate Division at US EPA
  • Courtney Sung, Director of Strategy and Business Development, Via
  • Sydney Vergis, Deputy Executive Officer, California Air Resources Board
  • David G. Victor, Professor of Innovation and Public Policy, UC San Diego
  • Francesca Wahl, EV Charging Policy, Tesla

Steering Committee

  • Dan Sperling (Chair), University of California, Davis
  • John Boesel, Calstart
  • Pierpaolo Cazzola, University of California, Davis
  • Giovanni Circella, Ghent University and University of California, Davis
  • Rebecca Dodder, US Environmental Protection Agency, TRB chair of Energy Committee
  • Anthony EggertClimateWorks Foundation
  • Dawn FentonVolvo Group North America
  • Mark Finley, Rice University
  • Lew FultonUniversity of California, Davis
  • Katherine Garcia, Sierra Club
  • David GreeneUniversity of Tennessee, Knoxville
  • Susan Handy, University of California, Davis
  • Marianne HatzopoulouUniversity of Toronto, TRB chair of AQ/Climate Committee
  • Tim LipmanUniversity of California, Berkeley
  • Britney McCoyUS Environmental Protection Agency
  • Patty MonahanCalifornia Energy Commission
  • Rachael NealerUS Department of Energy, TRB chair of Alternative Fuels Committee
  • Nick NigroAtlas Public Policy
  • Julia Rege, Mercedes-Benz
  • Thiemo SchalkBMW
  • Gil TalUniversity of California, Davis
  • Terry Travis, EVNoire
  • Sean Waters, Daimler Trucks


If your organization would like to become a sponsor of Asilomar 2023, contact Tori Yashinski at

Cypress Level

Volvo logo
Aramco logo
Honda logo
California Air Resources Board logo




Otter Level

Subaru Logo
EPA logo
Cummins logo
Ford logo
Caltrans logo
Heising Simons logo
Daimler Logo
Air Liquide logo
Bay Area Air Quality Management District logo

Event/Other Sponsor

BMW Group Logo
Climateworks logo
Mercedes Benz Research and Development Logo
Alliance for Automotive Innovation logo
Rivian logo
Toyota Logo



Corporate Affiliate

Daimler Logo
BMW Logo
ExxonMobil Logo
Hyundai Logo
Nissan Logo
Toyota Logo